Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Well I've got a spinning reel with maybe 6 lb test line, I don't know. It was a Crhistmas present, and its probably worth about

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Well I've got a spinning reel with maybe 6 lb test line, I don't know. It was a Crhistmas present, and its probably worth about

Well I've got a spinning reel with maybe 6 lb test line, I don't know. It was a Crhistmas present, and its probably worth about $35. I was practicing casting in my backyard and a rod guide came off. I am only a beginner so should I use this rod and have it fixed, or get a new spinning or baitcasting one or new line? Also, what should I fish for around Pittsburgh PA, and what baits/lures/spinners should I use. I have a budget of about $50 to spend on a new rod/reel or line and lures/bait/spinners. And what line should I use?

If you only have $50 for a budget you might want to get it fixed and use the $50 for a tackle box and gear. Because to buy a decent rod and reel yo are going to use up that $50.

Comment

i agree with rrmont. although i would replace the line to.

Comment

You can get a rod repair kit made by fuji for around $3-5 bucks and repair the rod. Or you can have it fixed by a rod repair shop, but it may cost you a lot more.

If you were going to buy another with a budget of around $50 you could go with a shimano or abu-garcia combo, or even a mitchell combo that would keep you within your budget. These are not top end rod and reel combos by any means, but for $50 you can get a pretty good combo.

As mentioned by rrmont and mutt you may want to fix it and invest in some tackle to better your chances for different species, I would also upgrade the line with a stronger lb test.

Comment