Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am new at this fishing stuff. I bought an Ugly Stick ok.. What is the small eye near the handle for. Do I string my line thro

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new at this fishing stuff. I bought an Ugly Stick ok.. What is the small eye near the handle for. Do I string my line thro

I am new at this fishing stuff. I bought an Ugly Stick ok.. What is the small eye near the handle for. Do I string my line through that eye or not?

Don't run your line through it. The small eye is for your hook, lure etc when you are storing your rod.

Comment

It is a safe place to secure your hook or lure so it isn't flapping around getting caught on things or people when you are not fishing. They are handy. I wish all my rods had them. Welcome to the fun and habit forming sport of fishing. Good luck.

Comment

Hook loop, don't run your line through it!

Comment

All of the above are right, and it's something all rods should have!! Rather than hooking your lure/swivel to one of the existing eyes, keep it safe there. All (or at least most) fly rods have them, more spinning rods should follow suit. Congrats on your Ugly Stik, I have a few of different weights and they all serve me very well.

Comment